DWS / Random Access Tape


A collaborative musique-concrete recording comprised of randomly sequenced micro-compositions by deepwhitesound artists. This limited edition cassette serves as a physical document of work created for Stream Room, a multi-channel sound installation.

Random Access Tape seeks to explore the contrasts, flaws and benefits of digital vs analog distribution of sound art and experimental music. All work on this recording was submitted via the internet between January and July of 2014 and committed to tape in August of 2014 ahead of the debut exhibition of Stream Room at FalseFront in Portland, OR. The cassette is produced and distributed under the Creative Commons license. The cassette may be reproduced in its entirety and redistributed with certain stipulations. Any parties interested in obtaining a copy of the cassette to broadcast / archive / redistribute / share may contact db@deepwhitesound.com.

Featured Artists:

  • {AN}_Eel
  • 061180
  • Zaron Mizmeras
  • Ak’Chamel
  • Amir Coyle
  • Andrew Cosentino
  • Big Drum in the Sky Religion
  • City Dragon
  • Cody Brant
  • Daitse
  • Emmanuel Gattuso
  • George Christian
  • Idol Eyes
  • Jared C. Balogh
  • Julien Beau
  • Justin Marc Lloyd
  • Lezet
  • Marcello Magliocchi
  • Matthias Boss
  • New Fast
  • Nihilist Fisherman
  • Sean Derrick Cooper Marquardt
  • Sonia DeSaint Juste
  • Spectacle Arrangement
  • Stephen Emmerson
  • Talk Midway
  • The Lost and Found Sound
  • Their Teeth to Points
  • Tomas Tello
  • uvovu
  • Yacob
  • Wartime Tapestry


Published by Julien Beau

French composer born in 1982, he works in the fields of acousmatic music and sound art. Very young musician, he studied piano with Laurence Gaiguant and later with Vovka Ashkenazy. After being a student in Musicology, in Linguistics and experimenting electronic music with his first computer, he decided in 2004 to enter Christian Eloy‘s electroacoustic composition class in Bordeaux. Graduated in 2008, he also explored sound and video with the support of SCRIME studio. In 2010, he moved to Paris and joined the first INA GRM Master class of "acousmatic music and sound art". During 2 years, he met many composers thanks to Daniel Teruggi and François Bonnet. Since this time, he collaborated with pluridisciplinary artists through projects, concerts, performances, installations, design or workshops. Raised with notes and structure, initiated in recording and sound research, his music ranges from classical and avant-garde, poetry and symbolism, still in the freest expression, entre "chien et loup". His music is published by Aposiopèse and Tsuku Bushi.